Because my situation changed

I don’t have a big, exciting story.  I was once anti-abortion, in college, and then I found myself suddenly wondering if I might be pregnant and knew instantly that I had to get rid of that if it were the case.  And suddenly I wasn’t as anti-abortion as I thought!  Turned out I was not pregnant, but it turned my head around and made me realize the value of having that choice.

Years later, after my suffering 3 miscarriages (what I called ‘God’s abortions) a co-worker of my husband had an abortion and felt very guilty about my finding out, that it would somehow really offend me to know about someone who had been successful but didn’t want it, when I wanted it so badly.  On the contrary, what really offended me in those days were the horrific stories of babies thrown in dumpsters after they’d been brought to full-term.

In short, the incredible vitriol thrown at the choice question these days just makes me ill.  There is nothing more American than having a choice.  And that’s all there is to it.  I don’t have the right to force my beliefs on you, and you don’t have the right to force your beliefs on me.  Period.
[Submitted from Redwood City, CA]

Leave a Reply

